The Great Seal of the State of Ohio has undergone several design changes throughout its history. The rotunda of the Statehouse, for example, has a magnificent skylight with a handpainted version of a Seal that was designed in 1847. This version is similar to Ohio’s present seal, but features a canal boat that is totally missing from today’s seal. In an attempt to reign in the design of the seal, the Legislature officially adopted Ohio’s modern version in 1967, modifying it in 1996. The Scioto River flows across the center of the seal, separating cultivated fields from Mount Logan. Thirteen rays of a rising sun radiate over the mountain, symbolizing the 13 original colonies. In the foreground stands a sheaf of wheat, representing agriculture and bounty. Mimicking the sheaf of wheat is a bundle of 17 arrows, symbolizing Ohio as the 17th state to join the Union.